School Logo

St John's Primary School and Nursery

Aiming high; Proud to learn together

Get in touch


Welcome to our Governors’ section. 

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Role of the Governing Board


At St John’s Primary School and Nursery, the Governing Board complements and enhances the school leadership by providing support and challenge.  This relationship is generally known as ‘the critical friend’.


The first priority of the Governing Board is to ensure that the school fulfils its role in safeguarding children and promoting their welfare.


The other core functions of the Governing Board are:


  • Ensuring that the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school are clearly defined;

  • Ensuring that the Head Teacher performs his or her responsibilities for the educational performance of the school;

  • Ensuring the sound, proper and effective use of the school’s financial resources.


More information about the roles and responsibilities of the Governing Board can be found in the Governance Handbook.


The Chair of Governors at St John’s is Mrs Gill Naylor.  The Clerk to the Governors is Mrs Kerrie Flippance.


The Governing Board 


The structure of the Governing Board at St John’s is as follows:


  • Two parent governors, elected by the parents and carers of pupils at the school;

  • One staff governor, elected by the staff employed by the school;

  • One Local Authority governor, appointed by Warwickshire County Council;

  • The Head Teacher;

  • Eight co-opted governors, appointed by the Governing Board based on the skills and experience that they can offer.


The full Governing Board meets twice per term.  Governors also support the Senior Leadership Team and participate in the school’s monitoring activities, such as diagnostic days and pupil progress meetings.


How to contact the Governors


Our Chair of Governors, Mrs Gill Naylor, can be reached on this email address:


The Clerk to Governors, Mrs Kerrie Flippance, can be reached on this email address:


Alternatively, messages or letters can be left for the governors at the school office.


Who are our Governors?


The current governors at St John’s Primary School and Nursery, together with any governor who has left during the last year, are listed below.  Click on an individual governor to learn more about them.